Eight area high school students awarded scholarships by residents of Edgewood LifeCare Community



In a ceremony held Friday, June 10, on the campus of Edgewood LifeCare Community, eight area high school seniors received scholarships to recognize their dedicated service to the residents of Edgewood and assist them in pursuing post-secondary education. Now in its second year, the scholarship program is a resident-driven effort with funds raised entirely through the Edgewood Treasure Cove, an on-campus store run by Edgewood residents and open to residents, their families and visitors, and staff members.

The scholarships are just one example of the many ways in which the people who live at Edgewood give back to the greater community and the program is a testament to the mutual respect felt between residents and all staff members — including student employees. As Rachel Penner, chairwoman of Edgewood’s Treasure Cove, observed, “The young adults who work here are so nice and connect so well with residents. It is gratifying to watch them interact — whether it’s helping a resident order from the menu or providing excellent service. They are kind and patient and develop such a caring rapport.”

Student employees are eligible to receive the $500 scholarship if they have worked at Edgewood 12 hours per week for at least six months and are planning to pursue some type of post-secondary education. Most of the students have worked in Edgewood’s culinary department.

This year’s eight scholarship recipients are:

Stephanie Beaudoin, Haverhill, MA (will attend Salem State)

David Cardenas, Methuen, MA (will attend University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth)

Abigail De LaRosa, Lowell, MA (will attend Simmons)

Nadine Elbetanony, North Andover, MA (will attend University of Rhode Island)

Lena Faranna, Methuen, MA (will attend Salem State)

Sarah Fowler, Sandown, NH (will attend New Hampshire Technical Institute)

Jazmine Rodriguez, Lawrence, MA (will attend St. John’s University)

Ashley Wilkins, Plaistow, NH (will attend New Hampshire Technical Institute)